Holiday Ukulele Gift Guide

But as I have been asked, here are last year’s recommendations on ukes to buy and good stuff to go with em’. And of course, there is our new CD, My Cup of Tea… you know where to find that, right? (SukeyJumpMusic.com)

sukeyjumpmusic

I am often asked to recommend ukuleles for purchase.  Here is my list for 2012, from the cheapest to the finest and lots inbetween plus the most neccesary accessories.

 very ukulele christmas!

But, let me begin by urging you consider  spending more.

When I turned a certian age I bought myself  what I referred to as my “mid-life crisis present”.  A Kamaka Ota San.  It was waaaay more money then I had.   My teacher, the beloved John Zhender, was dying.  I had been playing the Kamaka weekly, pulling it off the wall at McCabes for several months when I came for my  lesson.  It was made for a low G, (which was how John liked to play), it was beautiful in every way, made of koa with rope binding and a creamy tone.  Fancy.  I wanted it, but I thought I wasn’t a good enough player to warrant such an extravagance.  John…

View original post 1,100 more words

Leave a Reply

